Reuters' paywall part of new strategy and new community for local news entrepreneurs

Welcome to the new look and new platform for my global look at digital products and the business of global media. I've shifted to Revue because Nuzzel has shut down its newsletter service. Revue has a lot of features that Nuzzel didn't, and this gives me an opportunity to rethink not only how I do the newsletter but also what I do. I appreciate your time and attention. If you have any thoughts, feel free to get in touch.

Big Media Move of the Day

The company, one of the largest news organizations in the world, will unveil a redesigned website aimed at a “professional” audience.

To which Rafat Ali says:

Is Paywalled Journalism Only for Elites?

In this episode of our podcast, we look at challenges around equity, diversity and sustainability with the help of Nikki Usher. 

As Reuters goes beyond a paywall, some were asking how their important coverage of the developing world will reach audiences. This conversation might shed some light on questions like that.

Join Other Aspiring Local News Entrepreneurs

LION Publishers is all about helping our members and other publishers launch and grow sustainable news businesses. That’s why we created the News Entrepreneur Community Slack group to help news…

Building a Data Culture

2021-04-15. Behind the Austrian publisher's successful digital transformation is the strategy that aligns business and journalism and unites all staff under the single goal of monetising quality journalism

I'm bookmarking this to read later because it is what I have been working at in my role as a digital product manager. Anita Zielina of CUNY and the board chair of the News Product Alliance told me that building a data culture was the first step in building an audience-focused product culture, and I would definitely agree.

English Language Pubs' Subs Hit 23m

Press Gazette has been reporting on British journalism without fear or favour since 1965. Our mission is to provide a news and information service which helps the UK journalism.

Infosys Co-Founder: More Accountability for Tech

Tech companies need to be made more accountable by external environment, said Nandan Nilekani.

Good context in the increasing battle over tech platforms in India.

Airtel, Indian Mobile Giant, Restructures

Bharti Airtel announced on April 14 that it would have a new corporate structure that would fold in digital businesses to Bharti Airtel Ltd.

I hope that you like the new platform and format. Again, drop me a line with your thoughts. I've got more room for experimentation with this platform. One thing I won't be doing is writing 4000 words. So Simon Owens or you don't need to fear that.